Peace.

It’s been a probing thought in my heart the last several weeks that everyone’s relationship with the Lord is completely different. Some relate to Him more closely as a best friend, speaking with Him most commonly in the way they would talk to their dearest friend. Some are incredibly intimate with God as a Father, approaching most conversations from a childlike perspective. I don’t know necessarily if I have one “mode” of relation to Him. But I do know that just as my siblings and I have different relationships with our father, we have different relationships with our Father. It’s about personal make-up and how we were created to relate to Him.

That being said, He has been relating to me lately in the form of peace and courage. He has been reminding me that I am a person worthy of a voice. That I have the ability within me to stand up for what I know is right and for how I deserve to be treated by those in my life. I am a daughter of the Royal Family, and I have an inheritance. I have boldness interwoven into my being that was designed to emerge. I am only responsible for what I do and for what I feel, and I cannot change what others do and feel.

Once I have peace within myself, it does not matter if there is peace around me.

This is the thought that the Lord has been impressing upon me in the last month or so. There are seasons of life that feel like raging storms around me, and I am sitting alone on a tiny raft in the midst. But He gave me an image (just now actually) that He sits with me. He is the peace that stays with me in the storm. He is the peace that allows me to not fear or worry or drown in anxiety just because of what is happening around me.

Peace is a person. And His name is Jesus.

I encourage you. If you’re in a season of unrest, anxiousness, chaos, or confusion – hold tightly to these words.

“Jesus, when there is no reason to be at peace, be my peace.”

“Still the raging storm inside of me, even if the one around me remains.”

“When chaos demands my attention, steal my focus back to Your goodness.”

Remind yourself in this moment, friend, that everything is going to be okay. Even if it doesn’t seem like it. Even if you are unsure of whether you will lose your home, your friends, your relationships, your job, etc. you will make it through this. God has His hand on you, and He already prepared for this situation. He has the answer and the supernatural solution waiting for you, you just have to ask for it.

“The Lord will fight for you, you need only be still.” Exodus 14:14

Lauren

Leave a Reply

