Your Thought Life is a War Zone

Hi friends!

Something that the Lord has impressed upon my heart the last week has been how dangerous the territory of my mind is. When focused on Him, the thoughts that fly through my head on a day-to-day basis can help maintain an attitude of faith. But when my focus is not on Him, my thought life can produce an attitude of fear.

In difficult seasons, my mind and heart have the tendency to become overwhelmed very easily. It’s as if a booming and dooming cloud encircles me. There’s no visible way of escape, so I helplessly remain where I am, overcome by fear. But something that the Lord has been teaching me is that the enemy will attack you especially when you’re on the cusp of breakthrough, so press on. And the way that he most often slithers in is through your mind. By planting thoughts in your head aimed at the insecurities that have taken root. He spots the seeds of fear and attempts to water them with lies.

But that’s just it – they’re lies. As inescapable as the cloud of fear seems when your thoughts are overcome by torment, the only thing we have to do to escape is say, “no”. We have the living, breathing, all powerful Christ living within us, and we have His authority to say “no” to anything the enemy attempts to speak over us. Anything that makes us feel condemned or ashamed or fearful is from the enemy, and is therefore a lie. As soon as I begin to feel that shame or fear, I want to immediately recognize it and deny it, then turn to the Lord for the truth.

Your thought life is a constant spiritual battle ground. And any chink in your armor will be spotted and targeted. Don’t allow the enemy to steal from your future by torturing you with your forgiven past. Don’t allow the pain and hurt in your heart to fester in your mind undealt with. Don’t give others or Satan the task of defining who you are by what you’ve done. Accept peace of mind as the shield to protect you from attacks. Accept positivity and truthful thoughts as your lifeblood. And accept Jesus as the ruler of your mind. Take back the ground that has been stolen from you.

Friends. I am by no means saying I’ve mastered this. I’m 100% preaching to the choir here. But it’s something that I am processing and wanted to share. It won’t be an overnight victory, this war in my mind. It will be a daily, hourly, moment-by-moment decision to relinquish my thought life to Him. But a thought life run by peace and promise is evidence that I know who Jesus says I am and nothing can shake that. So I choose to follow peace of mind, as difficult a battle as that is.

Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus. {Philippians 4:7 NLT}

Happy Wednesday!

Lauren

Leave a Reply

